Skip to main content

Council of Europe

Founded in 1949, the Council of Europe is the continent’s oldest political organisation. It groups together 47 European countries and has granted observer status to 5 more countries (the Holy See, the United States, Canada, Japan and Mexico). Its headquarters are in Strasbourg.

From the fall of the Berlin wall, a main focus has become acting as a political anchor and human rights watchdog for Europe’s post-communist democracies, assisting the countries of central and eastern Europe in carrying out and consolidating political, legal and constitutional reform in parallel with economic reform, or providing know-how in areas such as human rights, local democracy, education, culture and the environment.

UIHJ is a member of the Council of Europe, as an NGO. It is also a permanent observer member of its European Commission for the Efficiency of Justice (CEPEJ). Several members of UIHJ participate on a regular basis as experts at missions of the Council of Europe.


ARCHIVE: Council of Europe