Skip to main content

The BREXIT became reality.  On 31st January 2020 at 23:00 UK time (24:00 CET time), the United Kingdom stopped being a member of the European Union. The terms for the withdrawal of the UK from EU are agreed in the so called Agreement on the Withdrawal of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland from the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community.


As part of the Agreement, from 1st February 2020 UK and EU entered in the so called transition period. This transition period will last (at least) until 31 December 2020. During this period, it will be “business as usual”, also in the field of enforcement and civil proceedings. Though the UK will no longer be represented in the EU institutions, agencies, bodies and offices, EU law will still apply until the end of the transition period. As it was agreed in October 2019 (the Political Declaration), the transition period will be used to come to an agreement on a new partnership. As mentioned, the transition period will last at least until 31 December 2020. However, it can be extended by one to two years. The joint decision on such extension needs to be taken before 1 July 2020.


Please find here a summary of the different European instruments in relation with the profession of judicial officer and how to handle them after BREXIT.


Another consequence of BREXIT is, that in accordance with the statutes of the UEHJ, our colleagues from UK (England, Wales and Scotland) will not be any more member of the UEHJ.


We deplore this situation very much!


We will of course keep you informed about the further evolution in relation with BREXIT and the consequences for our profession.